Final Thoughts: Oh My Venus

Since these are my final thoughts there will a few spoilers of the plot, some vague that I don’t think it would ruin your experience and other a little more objetive that are Bold⚠️⚠️.

Information

  • Drama: Oh My Venus
  • Director: Kim Hyung-Suk, Lee Na-Jeong
  • Writer: Kim Eun-Ji
  • Network: KBS2
  • Episodes: 16
  • Release Date: November 16, 2015 – January 5, 2016
  • Language: Korean
  • Country: South Korea

Source: Asianwiki

Synopsis

Asianwiki’s synopsis is good but not good enough so I will just do a few changes.

“Kim Young-Ho (So Ji-Sub) is a personal trainer for Hollywood stars. Even though he comes from a wealthy family background, he suffered a devastating injury during his childhood days. Now, he overcomes his problems with patience and stubbornness.

Kang Joo-Eun (Shin Min-A) is 33-years-old lawyer. She has struggled to support her family. Now, Kang Joo-Eun is overweight and not so attractive.” Not as attractive as she was younger. Known as “Daegu’s Venus” in her hometown, she was every guy’s first love and every girl’s nightmare in her high school years.

After being 15 years in a relationship with Im Woo Shik (Jung Gyu-Woon), high school sweetheart, she catches him cheating with an old friend, Oh Soo-Jin (Yu In-Young), who happens to be her new boss. Frustrated, she decides to lose weight for revenge, blackmailing John Kim, the mysterious Hollywood stars’ PT.

What I didn’t like…

The overreaction of the characters from Kang Joo-Eun’s weight. She isn’t ugly, but unhealthy. The first episodes were the most enraging episodes because they kept underestimating her. If that was their objective, then they succeeded it…

The late second and third generation are all trash except Young Oh’s right-hand, Chief Min, and the mothers. The usual annoying stereotypes of so many Korean dramas’ characters: the poker-faced father that ignores the son, the traditional grandmother that wants to marry off his grandson to someone of her liking, the bodyguards/ all-time slackers/ human wall that are nothing but walking models behind our male protagonist; and a board of egocentric asses misters that don’t see pass power and money. Maybe I am being over the top, but I got so mad at them in so many moments, so much drama, yet so little. We know that characters suffered from their actions, but I wished I could have seen more. I felt like it was brushed rather quickly.

⚠️⚠️ Spoiler Warning: I was happy with the ending, but you do wonder about what happened to the secondary couple, Main’s lead’s Ex and her boss. I wondered if they did marry and were able to have kids or something else happened, since that was their problem…⚠️⚠️⚠️⚠️

What I really loved 💖💖

⚠️⚠️ Spoiler Warning: Is how first impressions change and maybe the poker-faced father does indeed crack a smile and the traditional grandmother isn’t always an obstacle. I like how “Oh my Venus” gave the audience the warning of future drama, but never happened. Such a tease aahhaha. ⚠️⚠️⚠️⚠️

The side characters’ wholesome personalities together mixed so hilariously and beautifully like family. You will fall in love with this unexpected group of friends and join their upcoming moments as yours. Jang Joon-Sung (Sung Hoon) and Kim Ji-Woong (Henry) are uplifting characters, the muscle and cutiepie guys.

It is going to be cheesy and cliché many times. You will hate those cringy moments where she is saved. I recall a certain moment that makes me want to hide from embarrassment and rage because of Kang Joo-Eun’s lack of confidence. The only good about those horrible moments was the origin of her strength to fight and believe in herself. At first, it existed for the wrong reasons, but she changed and realized better.

Her gradual transformation was not only psychological but also physical. Along with her exercises and heathy dieting, I started seeing changes (or was it just me?), which motivated me, not to exercise, but to watch more. I enjoyed how it wasn’t as impactful as she dreamed of and that we joined her in this adventure.

I couldn’t have been as engaged to the kdrama if it weren’t for the soundtrack. The cast was beautifully selected. So many gorgeous flowers I met and would love to watch more. If you guys have any recommendations tell me. I will check it out too.

I am in love with the main leads’ relationship. They are so cute together and relatable. Kang Joo-Eun is straightforward and determined, she inspires Kim Young-Oh to do his best and so the opposite. Although, they are always talking about each other ‘sexiness and attractiveness and people outside their bubble can misunderstand, the viewers know how much they love each other in and out, healthy in the heart and the mind. Their interactions and conversations are the cutest and I loved the latter episodes.

Final Thoughts

If you follow my Instagram and Peooople account, you already know I recommend this kdrama dearly. I was engaged from start to end and I felt so easily entertained by the plot, soundtrack, and cast. Although it can be repetitive as our female lead is always being saved in the most convenient times, and it’s annoying how she isn’t ugly at all, rather unhealthy, and people keep underestimating her.

I’d recommend everyone to watch this kdrama. If I were to describe the theme in a few words they would be: A mature and relatable romance, so sweet to the eyes and heart and wholesome moments with amazing performances and great music.

Check it out for yourself and tell me what you think? Do you agree or nah? Tell me your experience with “Oh My Venus”.

Thanks for reading and have a great weekend

Leave a comment